Brashaw Wins 2018 DSMChess Spring Swiss

Dan Brashaw scored 3.5 out of a possible 4 points to win the 2018 DSMChess Spring Swiss held Saturday, May 12th, 2018 at the Staybridge Suites in West Des Moines, Iowa. Pattrick Earney had a perfect score of 4-0 to capture 1st place in the Reserve section. Often when I encounter Brashaw at a tournament the first thing I say to him is “you're no Bobby Fischer.” Of course, he is not Bobby Fischer, but it’s a complement. We all know Fischer won the World Chess Championship in 1972 and never played in a serious tournament again. Indeed, Brashaw is no Bobby Fischer and it’s a wonderful for Iowa chess. Brashaw, who was recently overthrown as the Iowa State Champion, has played in more Iowa tou

Ducharme Captures 2018 Iowa Class E Title with Perfect Score

Aidan Ducharme went undefeated to capture the Iowa Class E State Championship title. This annual tournament was held Saturday May 5, 2018 at the West Des Moines Learning Resource Center. Ducharme is a 5th grader at St. Augustin’s Elementary school in Des Moines. Aiden Ducharme - 2018 Iowa Class E Champion Seventeen players competed in this annual event. Fourteen scholastic and three adult players battled in this five round Swiss system tournament. Ducharme entered the tournament as the sixth seed. There were no surprises in round one. In round two, Dylan Ducharme, Aidan’s younger brother, knock-off Lucius Ray, Aidan defeated top-seeded Brad Huss and Jack Li up-set Randy Li, they are not

Wan, Brashaw win mucho in Cinco tourney at Western

MOLINE, Ill. -- National masters Joseph Wan and Dan Brashaw drew their game against each in the final round to split top prize at the Cinco de Mayo Chess Tournament. They had 3.5 out of 4 scores. The event was held May 5 at the Western Illinois University's Quad-City Campus in Moline. The Iowa mini-qualifier and Illinois Tour Event was sponsored by the Western Illinois Leatherneck Chess Club with assistance from the Illowa Chess Club of the Quad-Cities. Third place prize money was split between David Sye of Arlington Heights, Ill. and Pedro Gudino of East Moline. Both had 3-1 scores. Splitting the under 1400 prize with 2 points apiece were Rahul Bammidi of Bloomington, Ill., Jacob Vigil

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
RSS Feed

© 2018 by Iowa State Chess Association. Proudly created with