Dan Brashaw Wins a Threepeat!

In a titanic struggle, Dan Brashaw held off Joseph Wan and James Neal with 4 points to 3.5 for Joseph's and James'. In the last round Joseph and James faced each other both going for the win to tie Mr Brashaw, who had drawn Dr. Keating earlier in round 5. Michael Takahashi did an extremely good job in his first appearance at the closed scoring an impressive 1.5. This year's closed may have been the strongest in Iowa's history with 4 players over 2200 and one 2100. Dan is a regular Michael Jordan at chess. A big thanks to Drake University Chess Club for their support of Iowa chess. Jim Freerksen did an outstanding job of fixing problems and keeping players comfortable.

Scholastic Players Dominate 2017 Class E Championship

The 2017 Class E Championship was held at the Olmstead Center on the campus of Drake University on March 25, 2017. This Class E Championship is sponsored by the Iowa State Chess Association and sanctioned by the United States Chess Federation. This was an unusual year for this annual tournament. The field of 23 players included one adult. Nineteen of the 23 participants were from local scholastic chess clubs. One scholastic player from both Ames and Iowa City participated and one adult player from Council Bluffs competed. The following six Des Moines area schools were represented in this event, the number of players in parentheses. St. Augustine Elementary (7), Christ the King Elementary (3)

IASCA 2016 Minutes of Annual Meeting

IASCA 2016 Minutes of Annual Meeting April 2, 2016 Meeting called to order by President Vigil at 1 PM A moment of silence was held in memory of deceased chess players especially past President Roger Gotchall Secretary’s report read and approved. Jim Freerksen and seconded Christine Denison Treasurer’s report approved. Rex Grey and seconded by Cub Noble President’s report-- 1. record attendance at Iowa Open 2. largest number of qualifying events for Iowa Championship 3. featured article on-line about 2015 Iowa Open and Pete Karganas had an article in Chess Life about the 2015 Iowa Open Scholastic Report President Vigil read for Jim Hodina Financial statement given Motion to approve by Cub Nob

IASCA Closed Championship Pairings

RD 1 Wan-Keating Takahashi-Neal Brashaw-Kosokin RD 2 Keating-Kosokin Neal-Brashaw Wan-Takahashi Rd 3 Takahashi-Keating Brashaw-Wan Kosokin-Neal Rd 4 Keating-Neal Wan-Kosokin Takashashi-Brashaw Rd 5 Brashaw-Keating Kosokin-Takahashi Neal-Wan

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
RSS Feed

© 2018 by Iowa State Chess Association. Proudly created with Wix.com